Zack Snyder Talks Around ‘Batman Vs. Superman’ Film

Zack Snyder Talks Around ‘Batman Vs. Superman’ Film The folks at Forbes have a new interview up with Zack Snyder as he gets things moving along with the still untitled Batman vs. Superman film that Warner Bros. has going forward, which is also slated to come out the same day as Captain America 3 on May 6th, 2016, and there’s definitely some interesting things he has to say about the various experiences that come from the film as the pieces of it are coming together, and how he’s on the outside of it as well due to how marketing works and when fans can really get a look at things.

According to Snyder, he’s long wanted to do a Batman film and the opportunity to do so certainly made sense in the bigger picture, especially since it’s something new for both franchise. “Once you say, “What about Batman?” then you realize, “Okay, that’s a cool idea. What else?” I mean, what do you say after that? …But I’m not gonna say at all that when I took the job to do Man of Steel that I did it in a subversive way to get to Batman. I really believe that only after contemplating who could face [Superman] did Batman come into the picture.”

One of the fun things in getting things moving for the new feature is that even while using stand-ins, you can still get a good sense of the potential power of the film in relation to just their costumes existing in front of you. “Even just Batman and Superman standing next to each other… [I]t’s kind of epic. You do sort of sense the weight of the pop culture iconography jumping out of its skin when you’re standing there looking at the two of them and Wonder Woman. It’s crazy. But it’s fun. I mean, I have the first photo, I’ve got it in my archive because I was like, “Okay, I better keep this, it’s gonna be worth something,” [laughs]!”

With filming set to begin soon, there’s the obvious of fans wanting to get a glimpse of something and we rather expect Warner will try to do it early on to ameliorate some of the discontent among various contingents of fans. But for Snyder, he knows it’s all out of his hands as to when this will happen through Warner, stating, “Because the movie takes place so far from now, it’s hard to know exactly. That all gets tied to marketing and strategies for the movie. It’s not just a free-for-all, which I’d love it to be. Because I take a picture of the suit with my camera– I’m actually staring at one right now in my office. And it’s just massive on my wall in my office and it’s epic, let me tell you! And I’m like, “God, I want to send this to the Internet immediately.” But I know I’m not allowed to [laughs]! I do value the sort of excitement of the way the film is [revealed]… the pieces that are released and sort of trickle out to everybody, and those reveals are exciting milestones for us.”

And bound to add more controversy, he talks about the violence in the first film and his approach to it: “I really wanted to show the violence is real, people get killed or get hurt, and it’s not fun or funny. And I guess for me, it was like I wanted a hero in Superman that was a real hero and sort of reflected the world we live in now… As we’ve been writing the script and talking about what to do with these characters, how they face off and why and what it means, you know, we’ve really tried to think about it in a real– I guess in a way that talks about who we are as well.”

