Michael Fassbender Talks ‘X-Men: First Class’

Michael Fassbender Talks ‘X-Men: First Class’ Michael Fassbender is definitely on the upward path at the moment with what he has on his plat and Moviefone caught up with him during his junket for Jane Eyre and snuck in a few X-Men: First Class questions as it was just after the trailer for it premiered. You can check out the full interview here , which also has him talking briefly about Prometheus.

This interview is happening on the heels of the ‘X-Men: First Class’ trailer, which showed us a little bit more of the plot. Could you give us any more teasers?
I’m afraid I can’t, because I just don’t really know what I’m allowed to say. All I’ll say is, what’s interesting [about the story] is the coming together of Charles and Erik, and watching both of them formulate their ideas, which we come to know in the series later, and how their friendship sort of fractures. That’s a pretty interesting dynamic going on between the two characters. What we were sort of working towards is like Martin Luther King and Malcolm X. That’s about all I can really tell you.

Did you actually have to audition for the role?
I did, yeah. Which I don’t mind. Well, listen: I’ve always hated auditioning, to be honest[Laughs] … They’d already cast James [McAvoy], and they wanted to see — well, they wanted to see me. [Laughs] I think Matthew [Vaughn] had always wanted me for the part, but the studio wanted to make sure [because] they were investing so much … Which is understandable.

Did you base your performance on Ian McKellen’s? Or did you do your own thing?
I did my own thing. Ian McKellen, obviously, is Ian McKellen. [Laughs] He’s brilliant. That’s clear. But I wanted to do something fresh. The last two installments of the franchise weren’t that successful with the fans … So I wanted to just bring something totally fresh, and I just based everything on the source material, the comic book material, and drew everything from that. And there’s an awful lot of it. It’s pretty dense stuff, and some pretty life-changing stuff happens to him before we meet him in the film. So when we come to meet him in this film, it’s sort of like this lone wolf on a mission.

